top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Walters

Book Review: Ladybug Farm Book Series

Updated: Sep 30, 2021

Author: Donna Ball

"It was the way they moved: with ease and confidence, and a kind of unconscious pride in being female that no one has when she's twenty. You're not born with a walk like that. You have to earn it."

- Donna Ball, A Year on Ladybug Farm

My Rating: 5/5 Stars - One of my favorite series of all time

The Ladybug Farm series is about the journey of starting over and the importance of maintaining good friendships throughout life. This is the story of three friends who "had raised families, raised funds and raised their share of hell." Cici, Lindsay and Bridget have already raised their children and reached the point of winding down successful careers. They decide to go look at an old house in the Shenandoah mountains and they dream of buying the house and moving in together. Upon viewing the house, they fall in love. On a whim, they decide to buy it and make a pact to give it at least one full year of hard work before they can throw in the towel. A Year on Ladybug Farm details the adventures of their first year working to try to restore the house to its original splendor.

This is one of my favorite book series of all time. When I started reading the first book, A Year on Ladybug Farm, I didn't realize it was a series. I loved every minute of reading this book and when I got to the end, I was sad that it was over. I immediately began searching for more books by Donna Ball, and I was delighted to discover that she has written an entire series of Ladybug Farm books and two spin-off books featuring side characters at the Hummingbird House.

I wasn't sure which book to read next, so I emailed Donna. She was kind enough to send me the correct reading order:

The other books in the series follow the additional adventures of Cici, Lindsay and Bridget and are equally as delightful as the first book in the series.

I laughed, I cried and I sipped wine with them throughout this series. I would enjoy reading these books over and over again.

Purchase Info:

Publisher: ‎ Berkley; 1st edition (January 17, 2009)

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page